Today my zirprasidone dose was lowered

Tonight I am going from 40mg once in the evening to 20mg once in the evening. I kind of wanted to post my own experiences with lowering from 40-20mg because I’ve heard stories of people going through pure hell… and if by chance my story is different I feel like that’s great news to a lot of other out there.

2 Likes

I hope it works out for you. The minimum effective dose is important, and there seems to be a lot of pdoc’s over medicating people based on some of the experiences I have read on here.

The most disturbing of which relating to Haldol where someone said they took 60mg I think it was, when the max recommended dose is 20mg. I don’t say anything to people when I see these things being posted, as I am not a doctor, but it’s a concern to see people being put on such high doses - especially with the typical’s…

1 Like

That’s a really small dose, hopefully you have a good experience with little withdrawals.

I think 100 mg is the max dose of Haldol. Someone here takes 80 mg and I take 30 mg. My pdoc is conservative and wouldn’t give me more than the max dose.

1 Like

By mouth

• For Adult

Initially 2–20 mg once daily, alternatively initially 2–20 mg daily in divided doses; maintenance 1–3 mg 3 times a day, adjusted according to response, daily maximum to be given in divided doses, for debilitated patients, use elderly dose; maximum 20 mg per day.

I am not a doctor, so I wouldn’t like to comment further, but the above is what is recommended in the U.K. it may be different I guess in other parts of the world

Hear, hear. I think the doctors should only prescribe the typicals in an emergency.

The max of haldol is definitely not 20mg.

ETA looks like it’s 30 according to this site.

PO

• Moderate disease, 0.5-2 mg q8-12hr initially
  • Severe disease, 3-5 mg q8-12hr initially; not to exceed 30 mg/day