Schizo-spectrum disorders and eating disorders

I am on the schizo-spectrum. I also suffer from an eating disorder (a-typical anorexia, to be exact. Been suffering from different eating disorders for 6, almost 7 years).

How common is it for people on the schizo-spectrum to also suffer from an eating disorder?
Are you or have you suffered from an eating disorder besides being on the schizo-spectrum/being psychotic?

There is probably no links between schizo-spectrum disorders and eating disorders, but I am curious for why this happens anyway.

I wish to hell that was contagious. I could use some.

Oh, believe me, you do not wish that was contagious.

1 Like

I had an ED (bulimia, then anorexia, then ed-nos) for 18 years. Been in recovery for 4 years. I also have sz.

1 Like

You haven’t been yelled at by a cardiologist for being overweight as often as I have.

I have been eating disordered for 6 years and have been in recovery back and forth. I am currently in a relapse. How do you manage to stay on track with recovery from your eating disorder? You’re very strong!

I’m fat ass ■■■■ now and I still wouldn’t ever want to go back to that hell.

That’s like someone saying they wish sz was contagious so they could be creative. It’s ■■■■■■■ ■■■■■■■■.

1 Like

I’ve never been overweight, so no, I guess I haven’t. But there are loads of healthy ways to lose weight. Eating disorders are just a matter of time before you die.

I stopped eating during my first episode. Idk how long but for awhile at least

Was it linked to anxiety about gaining weight?

Not arguing that, just saying that if I had a choice between fighting to lose weight or add weight, I’d choose the latter.

1 Like

No I don’t think so. I think it was more about wanting to look better.

1 Like

I think @LED got a bit angry because what you said was quite ignorant. I would not wish an eating disorder upon my worst enemy. It’s hell.