Need help getting into grad school

LI’m in trouble and looking for advice. I am 34 and have had severe difficulties finishing undergrad… Yessir been in school for 14 years. I developed a mental illness schizophrenic condition and accumulated at least ten incompletes that turned into fs because I couldn’t finish them. I’m studying anthropology and want to do gradschool in Trinidad or Jamaica before returning to the states to work on a PhD. At this point it is all wishful thinking because my GPA is two point three. It may be a little easier to get into the University of the west Indies. My other idea is to study Caribbean folklore in the states at Kentucky… A college with a great folklore dept. This summer I will try and read two academic books and one Caribbean or African novel or poetry collection every three weeks or so. I live on disability and my parents won’t be alive forever. I know the only solution is to work hard every day but I am wondering what my options are… What the wisest steps to take are… And what my chances of success are. So far there are two things to consider. I can take more classes and get good grades in them after I graduate. Would this help me get into grad school? I can try and get as many as possible fs removed from my transcript because the center for disabilities said this MAY be possible due to the severity of my illness. What do you guys think?

1 Like

It’s hard with schizophrenia. It was too hard for me to study undergrad and finish. I’m on disability. Have you considered that as an option? I know it’s great to have hopes and dreams but if realistically your struggling to finish then it could be a reasonable option!