My supplements for schizophrenia

First I have to admit that I’m still on Aripiprazol, 5mg a day and I see myself not stopping this medication, yet. This does not mean I have done a lot of research, because doing so gives me hope there is cure.

The supplements I currently take give me peace of mind and with those supplements Im able to learn new stuff, Im a computer programmer so I need to be up to date with new stuff all the time. On Aripiprazol I feel restless and my hands shake sometimes, but since I had taken the supplements, in the amounts listed below, this all went away.

I want to share this list, so others can give me feedback or others can use it for themselves. What I have learned is that most supplements I take have an affect on the nmda receptor.

My psychiatrist claims I need to drop amino acids and herbs, I need to rely on vitamins and minerals (and fats). So I take this literally and I found that vitamins and minerals do help me a lot. Especially omega 3 and magnesium. I do take however a pea protein shake each day, since it has balanced ratio’s I have no trouble taking this.

Supplement list

Vitamin b complex

Vitamin c (non acidic version)
http://www.schizophrenia.com/sznews/archives/002402.html
Between 5 grams and 10 grams day

Niacin
http://www.altmedrev.com/archive/publications/13/4/287.pdf
500 mg a day
I do not take more, because I have elevated liver enzymes.

Glycine

Approx. 10 grams a day
I know of Sarcosine can be a cause of prostate cancer, so I avoid taking it:

Magnesium threonate

3x50 mg per day

Fish oil (filtered)

3000mg - 4000mg per day

Vitamin d

Between 5.000 and 10.000 IU a day
I have low levels of vitamin d.

Zinc

Between 10 and 15 mg a day

Choline
Like alpha gpc (125mg a day)