Is there precedent for collective schizophrenia?

From my limited research I found precedent for all of my own symptoms, both positive and negative.

However there is an element that still bothers me and I would like to receive clarification on.

In the span of around four months, four related people started to hear voices and experience delusions, the usual positive symptoms. First it was my biological mother (in her mid fourties at the time), then my uncle on mother’s side (in his fourties) and then me, around 20 years old.

The uncle has three sons. The middle son (my cousine I guess??) suffers from mental issues too, but I lack data. So far as I know he did not show the usual positive symptoms.

All my relatives and me went insane after meeting and speaking to one person in particular, a young woman who rented my room when I studied abroad. She did “magicks” and probably continues. Of course I suspect it was something different now, years later. I met scores of “witches”, “warlocks” and schizophreniacs in my life previously, and I suffered absolutely no ill effects, until that time.

That is a lot of people who were affected in relatively short span of time, at most three months. All of them are close biological relatives. Is it enough to explain the insanity?

P. S.
I have hard data and witnessess to trace these events, so I myself am rational when I present this particular problem.

1 Like

I don’t know much about it, never read litterature on it, but I believe it’s possible. Not everything can be explained with science.

Just coincidence. Witches, don’t exist.

2 Likes

There’s no such thing as witches or magic. That sounds like a delusion to me.

As for 4 people becoming unwell when they met someone - yes that is strange, but I would never be happy with “oh it was magic” as an answer.

1 Like