How do you manage your Tardive dyskinesia

hello Friends,

I am new to disease, side effects and forum. I seem to have spontaneous or Tardive dyskinesia. How do you guys manage it.

1. what medication or supplement you take for TD? what is your drug combo?
  2. any exercise that helps?
  3. any other tips that you think will help

Appreciate all the inputs.

1 Like

You haven’t been diagnosed with TD. As I said before if you suspect TD you should talk to your doctor immediately.

Ask them straight out if you’ve got TD.

3 Likes

I have violent shaking of my head, neck and right arm when I go to do my hair. My pdoc put me on Cogentin for it but he didn’t mention tardive to me. I wonder if tardive dyskinesia is what I have? I’m going to call my pdoc and ask him straight out if that is what it is. Thanks @everhopeful.

1 Like

You know your body best. What I feel is abnormal for sure and with other indicators being there I hope its not TD but have to be prepared for it and diminish it in incipient age if possible. Hence the post. I already scheduled appointments with both my psychiatrist and primary care doc.

Appreciate all the inputs,
This could be a future reference for any body looking for info on TD and how to manage it.

1 Like

Exercise doesn’t really help it just makes me open my mouth and stick my toungue out and touch my teeth with it.

I’m switching meds and I hope it’s not permanent. This is all because of Invega along with a plethora of other side effects

2 Likes

have you tried any of these @anon20742722 :http://www.brainandspinalcord.org/tardive-dyskinesia-treatment-options/

or ingrezza or inderal?? might be worth trying?

Can you guys drive safely with TD? how bad it gets?

I have not. I’ve been on inderAl before I was diagnosed but I can’t take it now that I’m starting latuda. Thanks for the post tho

Putting on makeup makes me do things with my mouth. I think it’s because I’m messing with my face.