Has anyone had their brain scanned?

I’ve read that there are some things that can be objectively observed in the MRI scan of a schizophrenic brain.

Like I find articles like this one: http://www.schizophrenia.com/sznews/archives/002617.html

Well that is from 2005, it’s been a decade since then, so where are these tests? Does anyone know of anywhere that has started using tests like this, or has anyone had one?

I mean it’s not like these scans are so exceptionally rare, expensive or difficult that they are not performed all the time. Someone taking a bad thump to the head would probably get one to check for concussion and whatnot. Right? Or what about to check for something like stroke/clot?

I’m not a medical professional, so I have very limited understanding, but it seems like using such scans to check for mental illness when symptoms are reported, ought to be standard? Is there are reason why they are not yet?

I would love to know for sure for example if some of what I experience is psychosis such as in schizophrenia or psychotic depression, or if it is just something like PTSD, or something else. A scan that could say, “You have the signs of schizophrenia” would be a huge relief in that I could commit to treatment for it with confidence. A scan that says, “You show no signs” would be a huge relief, because I could explore other possibilities with more confidence.

What is holding up standard testing like this, if discoveries looked promising over a decade ago??? Anyone have any info or experiences?

I have done CT twice. They said it was clean both times.

1 Like

Were they checking for signs of abnormalities based on that type of research I mentioned? Did the scan change how you felt about what you experience, or change the professionals’ approach to your treatment at all?