College is making me miserable

I feel so miserable while in college that depression is kicking in all the time. I simply don’t want to go to college. It’s not that I’m lazy, it’s just that I can’t feel inspired by college. I feel loneliness and can’t connect to people. I do talk to college students, but it’s kind like I can’t relate with them. They have different aspirations.

I understand I’m being whiny and I should be grateful for studying at one of best universities of my country, but I simply can’t stand college anymore. And if I give up, many people will think I’m a failure or that I reject college.

I understand college may be important to other people (even those who study Fine Arts, Philosophy, Sociology, etc), but I can’t feel greatness coming for me.

If I wanted to work as a Graphic Designer, I would find a job without even a degree. But I don’t love Graphic Design and going to college is making me miserable.

The problem is that I gave up college once and then I gave up a good job because I also felt miserable. People will say: “you’re depressed, take more pills.”, but even when I was taking antidepressants, I felt miserable in college.

2 Likes

Don’t be so rough on yourself…if college is too much for you …leave? You can always come back when you feel right about it…that’s easy to say I know…harder to do…I hope you find peace.

1 Like

Don’t underestimate yourself.
You have greatness inside.
You just have to find the program that will allow you to unleash that greatness.
Don’t give up on yourself, keep searching.

2 Likes

I left once and asked to come back. If I leave, I can’t come back to the public university again. Public universities are for free here in Brazil.

1 Like

What if the program is not college?

1 Like

Do what you want to do…not what you think OTHERS want you to do. But also learn to accept responsibility for the results of your choices.