Can going vegan give you better mental health?

Thoughts? Lifelong big meat eater considering veganism

maybe try to eat more veggies and fruit and grains and protein from other sources than meat and less meat and see how it works. keep us posted if you try it.

judy

1 Like

Changed my mind, gonna try to go mostly vegan

let us know please how you feel on this diet etc. judy

i doubt that that would have an effect, maybe if you cut caffeine and some other stuff could help but i dont think just eating veg alone would affect your mental illness unless you were forcing yourself to eat veg then that could be detrimental to your health. but i am no expert.

I used to be vegan for about 10 years from 21 to 30, but I don’t think it affected the illness in any way.
I now eat meat, eggs and milk as everyone does, and I feel better about it.
I think it would be ok as long as you eat a balanced diet.

1 Like

Eating more veggie would surely be beneficial for your health…add on some meat to your meal with mostly veggie

I have sometimes thought that vegetable protein breaks down in the digestive system faster than animal protein. That could, conceivably, have an effect on brain function. I’m not a vegan, though. I like meat too much.

A surprising fact that I learned when thinking of going vegan is that beef cows don’t eat meat.

I myself avoid sugar,and artificial sweeteners, sodas etc… altogether.

I rarely eat beef, but stick with white meats - chicken mainly and I do eat veggies.

I think that a Balanced diet would be helpful - protein is important also - good sources would be beans and legumes, if you dont want to eat meat

I want so badly to go off on a tirade about this, instead, I will say… Animal protein is absolutely necessary for proper brain function.