Can antipsychotics make psychosis worse?

I was put on Quetiapine (not for psychosis, just to calm me down since what I’m just gonna call “the incident”) like a week ago and just this morning one of the voices popped up again. It’s been months since that happened.
I also started thinking about my error more today (though I guess I never fully stopped having that delusion).

I’m not complaining. I missed the voice.

I am a little worried that it’ll get worse, though, and I’ll decend into the same madness I was experiencing a couple months back.

Could this possibly be the result of the meds, or is it just one of those things?

1 Like

Quetiapine made my psychosis worse.

2 Likes

First of all I’m no expert but I’d assume that when the meds don’t work the psychosis can continue to worsen. So don’t believe it’s necessarily the meds but that they don’t work?

Ah ok thanks, both of those make sense. I’ll mention it to the psychiatrist (yeh I have one of those now too) when I see her next. I don’t think she cares much about the psychosis but hey, it’s worth a try xD

1 Like

I think low doses of quetiapine make psychosis worse for me it did I think when I was on quetiapine 25 mg and 50 mg the voices would be louder

1 Like

Yes, it is possible. Risperidone gave me hallucinations I’ve never had before.

2 Likes

Yes me too. Didn’t wanna say anything but the first time I got hospitalized I was prescribed Wellbutrin…bad hallucinations. Then risperdal …just as bad hallucinations from that. Then I was put in a psych ward it was rough time…

Don’t feel alone. Seroquel (quetiapine) did wonders for my anxiety, but for positive symptoms, it fell WAY short.

1 Like

Yes they can.
I Hallucinated on Abilify.

I had it with Invega 6 mg

Zyprexa didn’t help me at all. It was like I was taking nothing but I didn’t feel like it made it worse it just didn’t help.

If people who aren’t psychotic take anti-psychotics, what happens?