Being made to feel like an idiot

Does anyone else ever feel like a complete idiot due to your cognitive symptoms? I know I do. I hate how I can’t remember simple directions, or how I can’t understand what I’m reading until I reread it several times, or how I forgot everything that I’m supposed to do unless it’s written down.

8 Likes

Idk if its really being made but maybe there will be meds for negative and cognitive symptoms in the future, dont give up. My negative symptoms are much worse than my cognitive symptons but both suck. Also arent you able to work? I know for me I cant handle hard jobs, I never did, even before sz, eventhough I was an A student. Its really weird how university is easier for me than working.

I feel more pressure while working than studying, its more stressful. Also I get bored when working as we do the same thing over and over. Now I cant work at all.

1 Like

When my voices berate me, I feel like a total idiot. Tonight they were calling me a Karen. I never felt smart before SZ because I am at an elementary school level at Math. It’s atrocious.

2 Likes

I am able to hold a job. Luckily it’s a very easy job so I’m able to handle it. I do struggle with the paperwork part of it tho. I really hope there’s meds for the cognitive and negative symptoms soon

1 Like

I feel like a complete moron. I’m not able to think clearly at all- even basic thoughts take a lot of energy, like thinking through mud. I can’t read a body of text and remember what I have read, let alone comprehend the information. Because of the level of impairment I can’t work and I feel like a useless lump. So yes, I feel like an idiot.

4 Likes

You can still be smart even if you have dyscalculia.

1 Like

@Schwann I can relate to all you say. It’s even hard to complete a thought without being interrupted by the voices.

2 Likes

I’m sorry you experience this too- it really sucks.

Yes, it does suck big time. I refuse to give up, but a little relief would be nice

2 Likes