Who here is in school? If so, how do you cope with the illness?

I am in college and I lift weights a lot, take meds, have been in therapy for years, and I am a little bit of a perfectionist. Some people remark on how intense I am about everything, school included. I used to smoke cigarettes but have quit for about three months now.

I think the working out is responsible for my sanity. That and the meds. Therapy just makes me feel less pain and learn to manage the inevitable pain.

I’m studying psychology.

I’m just trying to get my education. i’m a writer. i’m trying to learn as much as I can so I can write gewd. Not going for a degree just yet because I could never work a 40 hour per week job. Just trying to learn as much as I can. I cope by taking my medication and going to therapy and living as healthy a lifestyle as I can. I’m bright. My dad went to cornell and my mom is sensible and smart. I have good genetics overall. School is a struggle but if I get a class I can enjoy nothing can stop me. If I don’t enjoy it I’ll probably end up dropping it or whatever…I took 4 years off from school then went back and took psychology last spring and did really well. School is good no matter what reason you do it for. Maybe one day I’ll go to a four year and try to graduate, but I’m not crazy about getting my associates degree from my community college. Doesn’t seem like it would accomplish me much more than I’m already on pace to do.

I’m part time at school… I’ve been chipping away with one class on campus and one class on-line.

My job is flex schedule… but pretty close to 40… so I can’t take more.

I cope by taking the meds… going to therapy… doing the work…
trying to keep my Zen perspective… and getting out into the water.

Getting off the land… away from the hustle and bustle… away from the noise… away from the heat… it helps me a lot. Plus… my job is also part of my sanity… it’s not mentally hard… it’s out in nature…