What to expect from Olanzapine?

Has anyone else been prescribed this? I’ve had some very unpleasant experiences with medications and am a little wary of drugs at this point. wondering what the side effects are, how it helps. All i’ve been told about it is that it could permanently make me twitchy but probably not. I mostly would like to know if it helps.

1 Like

Weight gain. I gained 40lbs in a short while on this medication. Even got stretch marks from it. I do no recommend it unless you somehow avoid the weight gain.

1 Like

That’s startling. How short of a time? After stopping it did the weight come off easy? I unfortunately have to take it, it’s not exactly a choice at the moment. But psychologically? I mean, does it it put a damper on the delusions, stop them completely? Make you feel slow or stupid? Tired?

Think it was a few weeks, perhaps 2 or three. Fastest I ever gained weight and my body agreed. I still have the stretch marks to some extent and it’s been a year. The weight didn’t come off, it’s still there. As for the other effects. It did help with the voices but I still had delusions. The delusions/voices really started to fade when I was taking Risperidone.

Thanks i appreciate the reply. I suppose i’ll just have to take it and hope for the best. All i’m really doing is stressing about side effects now i guess.

‘Permanently make you twitchy?’

I take it, and it makes my hands a little shaky, but that’s all. I don’t know if it’s permanent or not.

Yes the psych said something about, rarely, it may make a persons face or lips twitch, and that this may be permanent, but may go away after time. Only remembered that cause she felt the need to say it several times. probably nothing to worry about and just something they have to mention for legal reasons. I don’t think she mentioned hands. Does it help you with the psychological stuff? Hallucinations?