What is it like talking to a therapist about delusions?

I don’t want to talk to my psychiatrist about some old delusions from 11 years ago that are still rattling around in my head. I’m concerned that the psychiatrist will just increase my meds instead of trying to reason with me. When you get used to using a hammer, things start looking like nails.

What is it like trying to get a therapist to talk through delusions and help you get over them, if anyone has experience with that? I have really good health insurance right now, so it may be cost effective for me.

Thanks.

2 Likes

Reasoning with delusions? :thinking:

2 Likes

I’ve had some good experience with this… It can be really revealing to talk about these things and honestly quite healing!

If you can find a therapist that has gone through psychosis or mi I would recommend that.

1 Like

I talked to a therapist about a delusion. She basically said I had insight so it was all good. It really didn’t help me to talk about it because I had already identified it as a delusion. What a therapist would be helpful for would be telling you your delusional when you didn’t already know. That would be great.

1 Like

I talk to my therapist about my delusions all the time. She really helped it today. I told her about synchronicity in my life she said “what message is god trying to send u” and I said “that god is there” and she said “maybe that doesn’t mean you’re the chosen one but instead that god is present” I said that was reasonable.

2 Likes

I could never bring myself to talk in depth about my delusions but skimmed the surface… It helped doing just that cause she helped coping skills develop…

1 Like

It’s sad but I can’t talk to my therapist about any of my positive symptoms.
She will dismiss it or downplay my psychotic symptoms.
I really feel that she feels uncomfortable discussing psychosis.

She mainly deals with neurotic clients.
She diagnosed me with bipolar disorder because it’s familiar territory for her.