What do you meditate on?

If you meditate, what do you meditate on? I have been meditating on my breath for the last six months, but I am now meditating on my 3rd eye.

1 Like

I try to blank my mind. Feel all my impulses and concerns and either process them logically or wait for them to pass depending on what type they are.

Like nicotine cravings or similar things I wait to pass.

Even concerns with the illness or specific people. I do what I have to in order to alleviate the concern.

Then I blank state for a bit and either fall asleep or remember something I need to do… and then I get to it.

3 Likes

I meditate on my struggles and negative energies and channel them into positive breakthroughs.

5 Likes

I meditate on the toilet.

6 Likes

I use this once a day for 15 minutes.

http://www.mindplace.com/Mindplace-Procyon-System-Meditation-Machine/dp/B000X2BSJM

1 Like

That looks pretty interesting. How well does it work?

It really makes a difference for me anyway.

There’s lots of different ‘sessions’ on it, and I just use ‘session 6’. You close your eyes, put on the flashing glasses and headphones and let it work. It’s expensive though, but I bought it years ago when I was desperate.

It calms my thoughts and I kind of feel 'refreshed ’ after the 15 minutes session.

3 Likes

I did transcendental meditation for a couple of years a long time ago. I was also sober in AA, and I was getting about the right amount of exercise. I also had cut down a lot on my caffeine habit. It was an okay time, but I wasn’t all that serene. I still struggled to make it through the day. My grades at school were good - above a 3.5. Then I started drinking again, quit meditating, and quit exercising. My grades plummeted. Transcendental Meditation doesn’t live up to the extravagant claims its promoters make, but it is pretty effective relaxation therapy.