Schizophrenia vs schizoaffective

I wonder what the biological differences are? Schizophrenia is pretty well researched with a lot of info on underlying biological processes. Schizoaffective is not. When it even is looked at it tends to be lumped in with schizophrenia despite being a completely different disorder with a different prognosis. Anyone have any info on this?

I am well aware of symptomatic differences, I have just never seen info on schizoaffective biological workings/causes that wasn’t based on research done on schizophrenic people.

I know when I worked with schizoaffective vs schizophrenic patients when I was a nurse the difference was night and day. Schizoaffective people tended to be high functioning and generally presented as normal until you started asking them about delusions and whatnot. Schizophrenics were sick sick. Extremely paranoid or totally delusional or totally flat/unresponsive. I have schizoaffective & have always been aware when people would find certain beliefs of mine “crazy.” The schizophrenics I worked with didn’t seem to possess that same capability. I wonder what underlying brain processes result in that.

4 Likes

SZA has a much better prognoses than SZ. The people I have seen with SZ are less functioning then SZA.

I just wonder why. Both disorders have imbalances with dopamine. Does this mean schizoaffective is simply a “less severe” form of schizophrenia? However how is it less severe when it has mood symptoms and sz does not? Confusing.

1 Like

I think people have this preconceived idea that SZA is much worse than SZ then SZA because it has bipolar and SZ in it… But SZ is worse, it has flat effect which is much worse. SZ affects your emotions more.

SZA is diagnosed when you have symptoms of schizophrenia, and bipolar. It could be better or worse depending on which symptoms you get. The key is that in SZA, you have schizophrenia episodes and bipolar episodes but they aren’t linked together.