Playing with other children?

Who here has early memories of playing or not playing with other children? All I can think is from 8 onwards I was very much a loner and into solitary activities. I have no recollection of playing with other children before that age . Is that something you could just forget ?

I don’t remember when I was younger but as an adult I didn’t have many friends.

1 Like

@firemonkey
I think you would remember if you played with other kids.

1 Like

Even pre 8? 15 char

monkey. i was allways out going, and try all kinds of clubs and class,and music. kids that went said i push the teachers to hard, and i didn’t fit in because of that fact. i just need…

1 Like

@firemonkey
Yeah. I do. I know we struggle with memory, but there is emotional connection with people or we have images. I just think you would remember something. I could be wrong. I’m not an expert.

1 Like

Memory usually starts around three or four years old. I know the illness had affected my memory though.

1 Like

I have a lot of siblings, so there were always someone to play with. I remember one of my first friends I had when I was 3, Laila. She contacted me on facebook a few years ago, because she remembered me too!

2 Likes

I didn’t really have very many friends.

1 Like

When I was in my twenties, a year or two after being diagnosed, I started thinking of my childhood a lot and rehashing the good parts and bad parts of it. When I was 7 or 8 years old I remembered that when I was in about second grade I just remember long periods of time where I was in my room playing alone. It seemed that went on for a long time.

I think it’s typical for people with schizophrenia to think back on their past and try to figure out what went wrong and where did we go wrong.