Overqualification Overqualification

Overqualification is the state of being educated beyond what is necessary or requested by an employer for a position with the business. There can often be high costs for companies associated with training employees.

I have a degree in History and Sociology, and I am a Landscaper

Had a lot of potential before SZ hit, but I am doing the best with what I know

Stress is currently my worst enemy!

4 Likes

I totally get that. Stress messes me up too

1 Like

To avoid too much stress I live as basic/simple a life as I can.

3 Likes

I mean, if it makes you feel better, most people I know with history or sociology degrees are also working entirely outside their field, usually also in skilled labor jobs.

2 Likes

On the other hand CEO’s are disproportionately represented by history majors

1 Like

CEOs are also disproportionately represented by people who inherited millions of dollars. I would bet that had more impact than their college major.

2 Likes

Historians are smart people, they have critical, analytical minds and recreate the past for us. You are being dismissive of historians I feel…

Not at all. Historians are very intelligent. My point was that the job market is limited for someone with that type of degree. I was insulting the economy, not the historians. We could use more historians who make living wages.

I used my degree to get a data analyst job, but I couldn’t hack it anymore

Landscaping is what I did before I took a degree and triggered my second psychosis

What I have to remember is I took the degree to prove to myself that I could get an education.

I left school with no qualifications, so it was a big deal to graduate from a top 20 UK University - given that I only had an Access to HE certificate to my name. I was lucky they took me in, and I proved I could keep up with those who just came out of grammar schools etc.

2 Likes