Help: Transitioning from higher end to lower end jobs

I got my degree after 6 years of studying and started working in corporate higher end Jobs like (project management and IT)

unfortunately even though these jobs pays well I don’t last long and its near impossible to sustain such jobs because of negative symptoms and work environment (meetings , social interactions and necissity of high focus)

after a long period of unemployment and financial hardship (disability in my country pay very low)
I decided now If I want to have an income I need to apply to lower end jobs but I dont know how to start cause any employer will ask why you are applying for this dead lower end job and you are over qualified
Also may ask some personal questions which can reveal my condition. This happend to me once not sure if it will contine with all other jobs I apply to.

My question: is there anyone who got a college degree worked higher end jobs and couldnt continue pursuing his career and is currently working a lower end job?

Also for thos who tried both Is working higher end jobs similar to lower end jobs regarding negative symptoms and social anxiety or is it Easier for you?

5 Likes

Important note: if you are experiencing severe negative symptoms I beg you save your money, time and effort and stop thinking about getting a university degree for job purposes. University is nothing compared to jobs trust me you will most likely end up disappointed. Focus on solving your negative symptoms and make it the priority

4 Likes

Been there.

I used my degree to get my first few big jobs and didn’t do so well.

Later in my life I realized it was too much and I needed to step back.

Honestly, I just kind changed my resume to suit the job.

If they didn’t require a degree and there was no need for one,

I left it off and just focused on my skills.

And in my experience the “lower end jobs” as you said,

Were just as, if not more difficult.

5 Likes