I majored in philosophy

And all i got was this lousy psychotic disorder

10 Likes

That is what all philosophy majors get.

8 Likes

4 Likes

Plus significant debt and a $15 an hr job :sob:

2 Likes

That’s 95% of humanities degrees, really.

3 Likes

Also the ability to correctly identify why someone is wrong without developing the ability to not tell them about it.

3 Likes

Not really, no . It’s not the diploma or the major the problem, is the people and how they use it or make use of the information. (as a general rule)

As a side note - philosophy is probably the oldest “job”, the most prestigious historically and it has brough us a lot of advancemnets in many areas, it’s not the philosophy degree to blame but how people use the knowledge gained (as a general rule)

a bad engenner is a bad engenner even if the degree is “usefull to maybe the majority of engeneers”
a good writer can not finish university and still be a good writer, a bad writer might finish it and still be a bad writer.

There is a pattern of people who go into specific fields (philosophy, engneering, economy etc) and if an area of study stagnates in a place and time it might be because of the people who study that area.

! not implying is the person who graduted fault, but is of people in general as a whole, if nobody gives a f about philosophy people who majored in it cannot do much because of that, also bc of that !

It’s a more faceted problem and the answer to the thousands of good university students who can;t find a job in they;re field is a big challange , it’s hard to even pin point a few of the sides of this problem.

1 Like

I’m not saying the degree is useless. I’m saying that 95% of the business community perceives it as useless. It’s generally a degree for those who plan to work for a government agency where I live.

1 Like

I read somewhere that psychology students are more likely to have some sort of mental illness.

3 Likes

Probably students and not psychologists (therapists)