Schizophrenia.com

Is this a legitimate reason to go back to school?

I have my undergrad degree in Management Science, graduated in '03. Thinking of going back to school to study: a. foreign language, b. finance, c. mba,

I sat down and thought about reasons why I have the desire to pursue an advanced degree. 1. personal enrichment, 2. job/ career advancement, 3. would like to be a student again

After getting ill my junior year in 01, I left school to regroup and recuperate. It took me a full year to get back, but my health was not good. I was severely catatonic and had a level of anxiety that precluded me from doing any school activity. The only activity I did do was play pick-up basketball, which I think I did everyday I was on campus. I studied, played hoops, and spent the remainder alone in my apartment. I had roommates but remember being extremely rude to them.

So wanting to be student again has been on my mind lots this calendar year. I am not trying to relive the college days (gross!), but I want to replace that experience and memory with one of positivity, growth, fun, where I actually get to know other students, interact with faculty, and not be such a nutty hot mess! So my question is whether this is a valid reason to go back to school…to re-experience as a means of healing, recovery, and personal growth… I think I just answered my own question, but maybe someone out there has gone through this very thought and action?

2 Likes

Sounds positive to me…all the best!

Yes it’s a good reason.
Career wise and education wise. a long as it isn’t a stress/burden on your financial life or your mental health.

my mother raised me by herself with barely anything and had worked in retail all her life.
she’s just got on a carers pension where she receives a lot of money to help support me I don’t really care about the money aspect i’m just glad she’s got free time now.