Insomnia- serious question

I have not been enjoying my month off of research. I have been sleeping 2-3 hours a night and having a 1 hour nap in the day. I have tried ambien with not very good results (worked one night then made me a little high and not sleepy the next two nights) and have been through the works with meds (trazodone, outdated antidepressants used for sleep, etc) and I cannot take seroquel for sleep because Geodon does not mix with it (heart problems happen if they mix).

Lunesta has me going to sleep an hour after I take it, but I have been waking up just 2-3 hours after taking it. I see my Pdoc today, but I would appreciate any words from this community of consumers of medications as well.

I want to get back to work soon but simply cannot focus and am not myself with this insomnia. It is really hitting me hard, and has been since I graduated. I am going in for blood work in a week to see if there is some non-psychiatric etiology such as autoimmune disease or toxic/low levels of stuff.

Try a nice nightime walk clear your head…might help…ambien does the same to me.

I seriously wish I could help. I’ve never understood how people just simply can’t sleep. I can sleep no matter what, more than necessary. my only possibly helpful suggestion would be melatonin, or maybe some green tea before bed. that makes me really sleepy

1 Like

Only thing that works for me is benzos. I gain tolerance really fast though so it’s really not a good long term solution. Sorry you’re dealing with this, I know personally how much insomnia sucks.

I’ve been on 2 different sleeping tablets over the years.

The first was when they first suspected psychosis was Temazepam, as I was also experiencing insomnia! It’s a hard hitter and probably addictive.

The second was once in hospital I wasn’t sleeping much on Abilify so I was prescribed Zopiclone, I didn’t take it for long, but it also helped in the short term.