If your body isn't used to it, is it possible to get fat initially from weight lifting?

Like your hormones aren’t adjusted to weights, but it gets better with time?

1 Like

Never heard of that, I know I have been lifting heavy stuff at work for over 20 years and my body just does not bulk up at all, no fat either.

Thais cause your hormones have adjusted to lifting weight I would guess

You could get more fat if you increase your eating because lifting weights makes you hungry. Try lean protein after your workout to curb the hunger. That’s what my husband would say.

5 Likes

That’s exactly how it works.

What Pianogal said.

I don’t think it has anything to do with hormones. Before I had to take meds, when I was a chubby 12-13 year old, I got more lean lifting weights. It wasn’t until I had to take meds with bad weight gain side effects that I gained weight.

I heard it could be based on your body type I think…not sure if its accurate info. If your the body type that has trouble gaining muscle…your strength is aerobics I think.

1 Like

I’ve never heard of that either. If you’re gaining weight, there’s probably some other reason for it.

Well there are 2 kinds of muscle (really there’s more but for the sake of conversation there is 2). There is body builder’s muscle, and there is power lifter’s muscle. Power lifter’s look like this

They may look a bit chunky but that is a lot of muscle. It may not be toned but that comes with time. I’m not very familiar with power lifting routines or really the sport in general other than the goal being to lift as heavy of a weight as possible. However over time I have heard they start to look more like this

But like has been stated, it all depends on how much you eat, what you eat, at what time, ect.