I just broke a guys heart

I’ve never done anything like this before. I feel like a monster. I told my friend I was going on a date and he confessed to being in love with me. I had to turn him down and block him because he wouldn’t leave me alone. Friends don’t tell other friends they’ll only be happy with them. He was messaging me for 3 hours straight. Should I unblock him and apologize? Or did I do the right thing?

2 Likes

3 hours straight seems a little desperate. I would just be friends until he matures some.

2 Likes

Yeah, that’s what I was thinking. He’s been messaging me all morning saying he was the only guy who could ever really love me. It just feels selfish and messed up. I don’t like him like that, he’s being desperate

3 Likes

I had to do this in the past with guys. It seems cruel in the moment, but if he’s that obsessed, the only way he will get over you and find someone who does love him is if you’re out of his life. Also, it doesn’t sound like he respects your ability to know your own heart when it’s in conflict with what he wants, and that’s not a basis for a lasting friendship. That’s the basis for endless drama and pain on both sides.

6 Likes

It sounds like he’s harassing you and trying to force you into a relationship. That’s very unhealthy. I’d stop talking to him

5 Likes

As a contrast, I have a friend who confessed to having a crush on me a few years ago… I said I didn’t like her like that. She said okay, and didn’t push the issue. When I met Mr. Star, and we started dating, she didn’t get jealous or hurt. She was fine with it and happy that I had finally found someone who I could love. Now, we are still very close, and supportive of each other. We are both married. I’ve had several friends who have told me if I wasn’t asexual and monogamous, they might ask me out. But since I am, they are glad to be my friend and never try to hit on me or make me uncomfortable.