Hi, about going to Uni

I haven’t been on this forum for a few years, so for those of you who know me, hi, what’s up?

Since I was last here I was hospitalized again (bummer) and I’ve finally come to terms with my illness and what it means to me.

I have been diagnosed with schizoaffective disorder, and bi-polar disorder.

This year I tried doing what I said I would do years ago and I signed up for University. I’m studying Art History and Archeology.

And to sum it up in one word it’s been difficult.

I would love to hear from any of you about experiences of going to school after the illness. I find it especially difficult to read, and also I am very scared about social interactions.

There is a program in my country for tutoring of people with mental illness but even though I signed up I for it I am hesitant to really go through with it.

Btw, all my classes are Zoom classes so far.

So what’s your advice, how can I make it through the school year?

6 Likes

I think you’re very courageous to go to university even if you find it difficult to socialize. Not everyone is able to do this. I hope you’ll go as far as you wish!

Get hold of past exam papers and do the exams as practice. It’ll focus your mind on what to study.

Its harder after sz but not impossible. I did one semester in kinesiology university major before getting diagnosed with sz. Then I did my remaining 5 semesters after my sz. It took me 8 years to finish a 3 years bachelor. My grades went down but I still passed my courses. I skipped exams sometimes bcz I didn’t feel ready and was feeling bad when I quit my meds for 1-2 years. I got a Drs note to do the exams later.

Don’t worry, it took me 8 years mainly because I stopped meds for 1-2 years and went crazy.

Thank you for sharing, I did notice people with sz take longer to finish. I hope to do it in 4 maybe 5 years.

1 Like

Interesting… Thank you!

1 Like

Thank you! I wish you all the best too!

1 Like