Has anyone had an ECT

Has anyone ever had an ECT to help with voices and did it help you. I had it and it just impaired my memory.

I haven’t had ECT, but I am interested in it as a way of treating my symptoms. I think you recover much of your memory loss. I’ve seen ECT do a lot of good in treating depression.

I almost had ECT. The doc brought up the idea and I got to the part where they show you a video about it. I saw that video and chickened out.

It did quiet the voices somewhat and I haven’t been manic since ( but it may have to do with my medicine).I just don’t like the memory loss. I remember major things but detailed small things I don’t remember. It gets kind of frustrating.

It would be a tough decision for me. Sometimes I think that whatever ability I have to write comes from my illness. I might lose it if I was healed.

1 Like

My creativity was lost with the ECT. I used to be a great writer.

i had e.c.t to break a depression and it never destroyed my creativity at all. i can’t remember whether it helped with the depression. i guess it must have done as i had my last acuphase injection before it and was as happy as larry afterwards…still completely nuts but happy anyway. don’t know if it helps with voices as i wasn’t hearing voices yet when i had it…hmmm something to ponder. according to surprisedj it got rid of his completely. but i’ll try the meds forst i think as i don’t think it’s available in my area without being an inpatient and i don’t have time for that as i have kids to look after. maybe once they move out i’ll consider it…if i live that long.

I had E.C.T. and it affected my memory temporarily. No obvious signs of improvement. I had it several sessions exactly 10 years ago.

I remember reading this a while back i hope it helps!

http://www.rcpsych.ac.uk/healthadvice/treatmentswellbeing/ect.aspx

I thought it wasn’t used to treat schizophrenia any more, where do you come from?

Thanks I’m in South Carolina

1 Like