100 % inflation

I studied in one border city in the 1980s. Many Russians had their shopping trips to this city. Unintended consequences. Now after many Western sanctions Russian ruble has felt a lot and it has made much more expensive for Russians to buy products in EUROs and this has had negative impacts on the border cities when Russians can not have their shopping trips to these border cities. I expect that the war continues to the distant future.

2 Likes

I made a language mistake. I should have written ‘Russian ruble has fallen a lot’. Sorry about that.

Inflation is also rising in the euro zone and is close to 6 %. I think that this is a worldwide phenomena. How are prices increasing in your part of the world?

So this means food etc gonna cost more? 6 euro more?

I think they were already up about 6% before the latest craziness. This won’t help.

2 Likes

Well gas is almost 1.90 per liter here now. So fuel prices are going up

2 Likes

I noticed a slight increase in certain items and sometimes some items are totally bought out of stock…disturbing trend…

2 Likes

@Yellowdiamond Products will cost 6% more annually. Some products such as coffee prices have risen more just in a few months. Costa Rica coffee was around 3 euros and now it is 3.99 euros, that is 33% increase in coffee prices and this has not been an annual increase.

1 Like

Annual inflation here used to be about 3%. Some things are up 35%. We’re waiting for the new quarterly inflation stats to come out, but everyone is expecting to hear at least 10% inflation now.

2 Likes

10 % inflation is quite high. They have written that inflation is high near warring armies. These new sanctions will increase inflation a lot internally in Russia. We just need to see what happens in the future.

1 Like