Schizophrenia.com

Working while on SSDI part time

What’s the maximum you can earn per month and not lose your benefits? Is it the $1170 SGA level or is it $840. I have heard both. I am considering going back to work soon and need to figure this out.

I think I am going to go and talk to somebody at the SS office in a couple of months.

1 Like

I know the limit is a little over 1000 but you want to keep the overall amount you get less than 25K or else they will tax you heavily. I’m on SSDI and I make around 500 a month working, I feel it is best to keep it well below the limit otherwise they can make a case that if you’re making enough you can return to full time work.

There’s rules about trial work periods and working consecutive months and stuff. I never fully understood that crap. I got awarded SSDI in about 1983. They told me about trial work periods and working full time or part-time.

To sum it up, I’ve been working almost steadily since 1983 and I’ve been through trial work periods of 9 months or 17 months, but somehow I have gotten SSDI steadily and now at age 56 I’ve reached the point where I can earn up to $1100 a month forever (according to them) and still collect SSDI. They told me if I ever went over $1100 for even just one month, I would lose my benefits. But there are even ways around that so If my boss has me work too many hours and I go over the limit, I can have my boss call Social Security up and explain that it was her fault and then I won’t lose my benefits.

Chrystal clear, right lol?

I read a booklet on line and it basically says if you make more than $840 but less than $1170 your benefits will only last 36 months.

@TomCat

How can that fly with your VA comp check? What is your disability (I thought it was related to mental health)?