Working while having episodes

I’ve been doing well for a while, but recently things have been getting worse. I’m a student teacher, so I’m teaching full time while taking college classes. This semester I have to make a portfolio and I think the stress of that along with just how intense this semester will be has put me over the edge.

I’ve had three episodes in less than two weeks. I haven’t had any major, long-term episodes in three years so I feel thrown off. The first two I was thinking that maybe it’s just a couple of bad days. But the third one came and I can tell this isn’t the end of it.

I’m worried about teaching in front of my kiddos. I’m worried I’ll have an episode at work in front of them. I’m worried I won’t be able to finish this semester and get certified. So does anyone have advice on how they manage working full-time with their diagnosis? (I’m schizoaffective btw). I’m just terrified of what is yet to come.

1 Like

The forum says its been 2 years since your last post. Welcome back!

2 Likes

Is there anyway to reduce your workload? Stress and anxiety usually aggravate my SZ symptoms.

1 Like

I could probably ask my mentor teacher to help out a little bit but other than that not really. Especially with my college classes, I’m gonna have to go all in.

Are you on any meds? Which meds are you on?

I worked for a year in accounting while having symptoms but I wasn’t fully psychotic or in danger.

I’m on Rexulti. my psychiatrist is upping my dose but I’m still worried.

1 Like

How was that? Were you able to manage?

I think you need to increase the dosage or change Ap. Talk to your doc.

1 Like

Some people ignore their positive symtpoms and try to work without taking notice of it. Sorry i cant help more. I have schizophrenia and havent been able to work for nearly two years now

2 Likes