Schizophrenia.com

Why do schizophrenia patients die earlier than other people?

5 Likes

LS! A male with schizophrenia in the Western World on average has a life expectancy of 59.9 years. I have been doing research in psychiatry for ten years and was paid for in two years. Recently I researched mortality and psychiatry for a friend of mine who is on the board of a very large mental health institution. Where some research claims that people die young because of smoking, cardiovascular disease and suicide; I personally feel that the negative symptoms cause a lack of health discipline. And as the above article points out there are some less understood and often untreated symptoms of schizophrenia that can shorten you life.
I am now 61 years old and I do not intend to die soon. I do intermittent fasting, exercise, did twice a senolytic treatment, take lots of dietary supplements, am lacto-ovo-vegetarian, do not use alcohol or tobacco, take my daily risperdal.
I also read books by authors like: Roy Walford, Valter Longo, Kris Verburgh and of course: How Not To Die.
Lisa Mosconi: Brain Food ; is also a good book.
Do not despair and give your health priority!

9 Likes

The average life span of a normie woman in the western world is 82 years. For a sz/sza woman, the average life span is 70 years. So, 12 years sooner.

Makes sense. On average, guys get sick 10 years earlier than girls, therefore guys get on meds 10 years earlier, therefore guys die 10 years earlier. It kinda sucks, really.

What does this mean??

Oh well, there will be other lives…

2 Likes

agentmulderfbi,
How many hours/week do you exercise ?

1 Like