Who has tried HALDOL?

Interested in your experiences. I took 3mg here in New Zealand tonight. I have been hearing voices 24 hours a day for 7 years…and no meds have worked. I have been super desperate ever since 2007. It’s messed up.

I noticed that for about 30 minutes after taking the Haldol, I had a reduction in the volume of the voice I hear and speaking less frequently. I did feel a bit better too during that 30 minute period, as I was able to focus more now that the voice was less intrusive. BUT THEN…my voice came back after 30 minutes and was back to his usual volume!!. It’s as if it were yesterday for me. There’s zero change in the voice so far.

HOW LONG does it take Haldol to get rid of voices? I plan on giving it a MAXIMUM of 4 weeks to see if it will work. I’m not the sort of person who can give a med like 3 months to work…

Cheers,

2 Likes

I only had a brief experience with Haldol, in the hospital a while back. It was not by my choice to take it. It was forcefully injected in to me as I was in state of pure psychosis and mixed mania (mixed states) The following day, the Haldol had restored me to near normalcy in that short period of time. My mood and thoughts were in a much better place.
From what I experienced, I did like how it made me feel. I am now on Risperdal which is very similar to Haldol.
If Haldol works for you usually Risperdal will as well, and vice versa. The problem is it completely knocked me out cold, but it was probably at a very high dose- it was an injection after all.

2 Likes

I’m sorry you only got 30 minutes of relief. They may have to work on dosage.

2 Likes

Hmmm…thanks for your comments. Thing is, I am on Risperdal now and have been for 3 years (well, I won’t take my risperdal pill going forward). Am I wasting my time taking Haldol if I’ve taken something similar to it?