What we're you like before your DX'd

I used to work as a general labourer and data entry clerk . I was working 7 days a week. (Part time on weekends and sometimes overtime during the week) I had no sleep at night so I smoked a joint to go to sleep. (I got nearly 4 hours each night except on the weekend. I wouldn’t eat at all during my work days (I would drink coffee and cigarettes during the day)
Except having a big dinner in the evening

In the mornings I would smoke another joint and have an energy drink. If I was working overtime I would down a five hour energy drink to get me through the day.

I was happy. Everyday. Everyone loved my mood and it was contagious. Seeing me in such a great mood would make everyone else much more productive.

My parents knew I smoked marijuana but not to the extent that I did. They thought I smoked every other day until they caught me smoking in the mornings and at night. Needless to say, they got worried and admitted me to a psych ward. That’s when all hell broke loose.

I stopped smoking marijuana, energy drinks and 5 hour energys abruptly. The hell I went through in the psych ward was worse than benzo withdrawals I think.

Every since I left the psych ward I wasn’t the same. (It was my third time but I don’t want to discuss my previous visits.

How were you before you were DX’d?

5 Likes

I was a high functioning adult.

I was making about $120,000 per year when I got sick. It really shook my world around

4 Likes

I was smart but the doctors suspect I had mental illnesses before the psychotic symptoms. I had two suicide attempts from overdose. But I was in college just before the first psychotic break. I passed college math and physics courses with good grades. I was on the dean list. The hardest class was economics. I found it completely boring

3 Likes