What do you say?

This question is focused towards people who have gone a while unemployed and possible collecting disability. When I meet new people I often get asked the common question of, “what to you do”
Well I’m a sick no functioning schizophrenia that gets paid disability. But obviously you don’t say that to a stranger. Well I don’t. And so what do you tell people " what you do" when your sick and unemployed?

3 Likes

i just try to be honest without giving too much away, i say, i havent been well i’ve got a mental illness, its under control but work is too stressful for me right now, things like that

I tell them I’m a retired architect and they shut up…you might try saying, “I am an artist but make little money” or something like that?

1 Like

I said I’m a writer, which was true… I’m old enough, now, to say I’m retired and on social security and to get no argument.

1 Like

I tell people that I’m a nurse but I’m taking some much-needed time off. People rarely question beyond that.

But as I get to know people, and they become a friend, I will explain my disability in detail. But to strangers: no, its none of their business.

Blessings,

Anthony

2 Likes

I hate this question, I live in fear of it in fact. Despite having entered the work force for the first time at age 14 I’ve spent the majority of my adult life unemployed and collecting disability. Yes I live in fear of this question, but I’ve found that I rarely actually get asked this. That may be because I tend to simply avoid any situation in which I may be asked.

For a while I was doing volunteer work as the outpatient program I was in encouraged this so I would just say I did thus and such (I work with animals or I’m a grounds keeper at a camp for the developmentally disabled) and most people would simply say “oh that must be nice” I wouldn’t mention anything about it being volunteer work, just that it was work.