What do you tell people you do for work?

What should I say when people ask what I do for a living? (they put me on disability for Schizoaffective and BDD). I’ve told a few people I’m on disability but that doesn’t seem appropriate for casual acquaintances. I could tell them I’m ‘retired’, which is mostly true, but then it’s weird if I don’t explain it. And I don’t want to sound stand-offish and say ‘none of your business’. What do you do?

I just makes jokes and say I play on the internet all day. I don’t really go any deeper unless there’s reason to or I feel like talking about it.

Most people just assume I have a job that allows me to play online or that requires a lot of interneting for whatever reason. They don’t tend to automatically assume that I actually just play online all day because I don’t work.

I tell people I’m taking a break and living on savings at the moment.

I tell them I do nothing. That usually makes them shut up. :wink:

If not I just start talking about my daily chores and routines.

I tell them, I’m a disable veteran. If they ask why I’m disable, I tell then I don’t like to talk about it.

I tell them I retired early - No one really asks anyway

I tell them the truth.

Im being put through a horrendous process called alchemy by interdimensional beings.

Also known by some as torment.

It’s so damn stupid sometimes, you’ll get tormented for long and dudes will be like “hey man, you just need to care more. Try harder.” Im being haunted to death and killed and they are like “You don’t clean enough man. Why don’t you care about your appearance at all?”

You never want to hear during torture that “You just have to make better choices man. You have to change.”