(Trigger Warning) How old were you when you started using drugs?

I was twelve when I started smoking weed.

These cool guys (teenagers) that worked in a record store I visited a lot were smoking in the mall parking lot.

I was curious, so I tried it.

Started smoking with them every weekend,

Then was smoking almost everyday by 14.

I didn’t drink or experiment with other drugs until I was close to 16.

What about you?

I’m trying to figure out what is normal.

1 Like

I started to use at 12 also. Same age I began to drink before school. Happened as I was prodromal. Trauma precipitated it.

1 Like

I was 18 but it wasn’t considered normal at my high school. Gotta say it lead to addictive tendencies. Trying to catch up with my peers. Right before I graduated hs at 17 almost 18 I had 2 glasses of sangria. Although I didn’t drink again for a year after that. I was smoking weed a month later right around my 18 bday. And every day immediately. It wasn’t until I was arrested and did community service it made me wanna drink. Then smoke tobacco. I say tobacco was the biggest gateway drug for me. Cuz after tobacco I was willing to do anything. Maybe it’d be different for others. But at the time I thought tobacco was really bad, but alcohol not as much. Cuz it’s so socially acceptable. So once I did tobacco I was willing to try lsd and anything and overdo my drinking.

I know who introduced me to weed, who told me I should drink, and who told me psychedelics are Ok to do. I def remember those three events.

I was a confused teen though. Well before the drugs

2 Likes

Around 5 when they were slipped to me to make me more manageable. Got into booze around age 13 and it was love at first sip. Harder stuff quickly followed.

3 Likes

Dear gods!

What were they giving you at 5?

That’s so dangerous, happy you survived that ■■■■.

2 Likes