The Benefits of Art for Dealing with a Diagnose of Schizophrenia

Hi guys,

This post was approved by de Admins.

I am a journalist working on a piece about Art as a helpful tool for dealing with the difficulties of Schizophrenia. My father has a diagnose, and art is one of his major expressive outlets, as well as a space of relief. Through him I have experienced how healing a practice it can be, so I think writing about this can greatly help other patients as well as educate the public.

Please do let me know if you’re willing to speak with me about it or can think of someone who might. I would be happy to hear your or their story.

With best wishes,

Pedro

1 Like

I use to do Art projects all the time when I was younger they would help slow my brain down and even calm down the voices, But now after taking medications for so long I can no longer draw, or paint… So now the closes thing to art I can do is Coloring in Adult Coloring books but that is even difficult for me now…

Words aren’t always easy for me, so if I can paint a vision or a feeling, it’s a way to express myself. When there’s a lot of noise inside my head, sometimes an angel will appear repeatedly in the same form over and over. I know I need to paint that image or it won’t go away. Once it’s done, the haunting sense if urgency leaves.

4 Likes

5 Likes

4 Likes

I am willing to talk about art-how it relates to my life as a schizophrenic.

Any topic that gets @hedgehog to post her paintings is a great topic :heart_eyes_cat:

5 Likes

Thank you, @Rhubot :heart:

I’m a writer diagnosed with psychotic depression.

I can’t say writing began as a way to cope with the unusual thoughts / visions / voices, but it has been used as a coping mechanism. My hallucinatory experiences inform my writing. I have a very easy time with symbolism and metaphor. My memory is terrible, as is my focus, so keeping a semi-regular journal has been helpful, too.