Switching over to Generics

I always was told by certain doctors to take brand name drugs.
But while I was in the psych Hospital, they only gave me Generics.

Honestly I feel better with the Generics.

From now on I will be using Generic meds, including sticking with risperidone instead of using brand name Risperdal.

I also am saving a ton of money in the process.

I seem to be less agitated on Generic Risperdal compared to the brand name version.

8 Likes

I take geodon, and it is going generic, which makes me glad.

2 Likes

Hereā€™s the deal with genericsā€¦ I am a certified pharmacy technician and have been told this by every pharmacist I worked with.

Generics have the exact same active medication as the brand name. The difference is that generics are allowed by the FDA to have 10% more, or 10% less, of that active medication. For example, a 100 mg tablet of brand name Seroquel is required to have exactly 100mg of Quetiapine in it. But a generic 100mg tablet of the same drug is only required to have 90mg of Quetiapine in it, or even up to 110mg.

Thatā€™s why some people notice that certain generic manufacturers are better than others. For instance a lot of people who take Xanax generic say the Greenstone generics are best and thatā€™s true because they contain more of the actual drug.

4 Likes

Ugh. I donā€™t like the sound of that if itā€™s true. Anyway, I take generic abilify now and (thankfully) dont notice any difference.

2 Likes

Normally I only take the brand names. I think there is no generic for my invega and my lexapro so Iā€™m sort of safe there. Iā€™ve never been told by a doctor to only take brand names, itā€™s been my own pedantic self that has seen me only order the brand names.