Superior intellectual ability in schizophrenia: neuropsychological characteristics

1 Like

i did an iq test prior to my schizophrenia and the result was around 120. now after the breakdown i did it again and the result was the same and i wasnt even trying hard to score points as i did before.

Depends when you get me. Late at night I go to sleep after I’ve solved the riddles of the universe. In the morning I can’t remember if the peanut butter goes on the top or the bottom of the toast.

2 Likes

On Lumosity I score about 10% above average. Im a former university student but ABILIFRY fried my mind.

1 Like

I use lumosity.com too! I score pretty low. I’m currently at the 52 percentile. My strengths are attention and problem solving. My weaknesses are memory and speed. I scored about 70 percentile in problem solving and 55 percentile in attention. My memory is 30 percentile and my speed is 40 percentile. I used to be a math major at a top university.

I think my mind has been fried from medication too. I think I’m currently over-medicated.

I’m one of those people with superior intellectual ability. I think the cognitive impairment associated with schizophrenia has definitely affected me by a significant amount. I feel like my IQ dropped at least 20 points. My psychiatrist keeps calling me a genius but she says my current IQ is just 110, even though I’ve never been tested. She says I’ll never be able (and shouldn’t expect) to perform like I used to (that is 120%). She said I shouldn’t try to be better than other people, which I kind of agree with. It was never about being better than people. I just wanted to challenge myself and be the best I could be. Plus, going to a competitive school and majoring in pure math requires you to perform at a certain minimum level. It’s survival of the fittest. That’s why I can’t go back until I improve.