Should they teach stuff about mental health in schools..?

should they teach stuff about mental health in schools…?

4 Likes

Yes they should in health class. We were taught “You can get schizophrenia if you do LSD” That’s all I remember about schizophrenia in school but they should teach more. And I didn’t listen because our teacher told us “You can see playboy bunnies if you take LSD” so my mind was too fixated on that to care about the schizophrenia. Bad teacher. She was practically a playboy bunny though.

2 Likes

they probably do teach stuff about mental illness, but they just don’t go in-depth about it. I wouldn’t really know because I forgot most of the things in health education class

but I still remember a few things about human biology. :sunglasses:

2 Likes

Yes they should, especially in Middle School and High School.

I worked in the Education field for decades.

I’ll never forget this one time when the Art teacher devoted an entire class teaching and explaining to Elementary school students the connection between mental illness and creativity.

I was really moved by her compassion

5 Likes

Yes, for some of the students have mental illness. The education can literally save lives.

3 Likes

Education wouldn’t have helped me. Which makes me think I was mentally sick from a very young age. Because I was in denial about my schizophrenia, so delusional, before I ever “actually” got schizophrenia. But yeah I agree it can help many.

1 Like

I’m from the 60’s and back then the word schizophrenia wasn’t even heard. Before I had my first breakdown I knew nothing about it, even though my aunt was a patient. Yeah, I think it should be taught in school, but what are they going to teach. In the media, you hear things like marijuana causes schizophrenia, and that’s just not the case. do high school teachers actually know enough to present mature facts about mental illness.

3 Likes