On weight gain

I think a LOT of people can identify with this one…losing weight is hard. Hard especially in the face of meds which, for the overwhelming percentage of sufferers, is made impossible thanks to the metabolic effects on the body. My weight has ballooned recently, and it can all be tied to meds. It’s kind of like an endless cycle, you take meds that are sedating, you do less, and then you hang around the house all day and eat because you’re unrelentingly hungry. A lot of the time I wonder what can be done to mitigate this. I’ve seen a commercial recently about OIC (opiod-induced constipation). Why can’t they engineer a medication that doesn’t whack the metabolism?

Feel free to chime in with your thoughts.

5 Likes

I have pretty much resigned myself to the fact that I am never going to weigh 140 lbs again like I did when I graduated from college (I am now 204lb) However, I am encouraged that my brother does well on Zyprexa and has really good bloodwork. He follows a pretty extreme diet though: Absolutely no sugary foods, no gluten, no dairy…etc…etc… It seems to work for him plus it seems to help his allergies which he used to have a lot of.

My bloodwork is a bit off still (~300 triglycerides, low HDL) … I may ask my doc about trying Zyprexa assuming my insurance will cover it instead of Risperdal I don’t think I can duplicate my brother’s diet but I have started emulating it more by eating plenty of fruits and vegetables and cutting out a lot of junk food.

I am even working on a prototype voice food diary app which seems to help me make sure I eat fruits and veggies and stay near my calorie goal https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.rfo.speakcc I lost 14 lbs using it but since Xmas my weight creeped up 9lbs probably because of stress.

(BTW myfitnesspal and LoseIt are pretty good apps too. They really helped me manage my sodium and potassium levels which helped a lot with my blood pressure.)

1 Like