Schizophrenia.com

New part time job

I got a new job. Talked about this in the say anything thread yesterday but I am going to work part time as an aircraft mechanic.

I already have a full time job working for the federal government and went off of SSDI in June. I had to ask permission to take a second job and they have 10 days to approve it or not.

I will be on call outside of my normal working hours and on the weekends to go to the airport and work on planes. They are going to start me at $30 an hour. I worked as an aircraft mechanic for 6 months in 2017 and 2018 but they were only paying me $15 an hour. That’s why I got out of the business and took this federal job. This new job is only part time though. They said maybe I could do full time in the future if the company grows.

The guy said after a month or so if I learn fast and can go out by myself I will get $38 an hour. For each service call I will get a minimum of 4 hours of pay. So even if I only work on a plane for 30 minutes I still get paid for four hours. Of course if I work more than that I get that too but I also get mileage if they send me out of town. The guy said the average call was about 25 minutes like if a plane won’t start or something.

So long story short I will be working more than 40 hours a week. I don’t know how often they are going to call me yet. I am going to have to wait and see.

I have to go and take a drug test tomorrow. Was supposed to do that today but I was too busy at my other job.

This will be like a hobby I can get paid for but I don’t know if I will be able to handle extra work. I might have to quit or only do it on the weekends. My wife is already complaining she is alone all the time. She got used to me being home everyday.