I ruined my own life

This is a sudden realization about something that’s been happening for the last decade. My getting sick and the decisions I made while sick, and even while lucid, have put me in a place at 27 years old that I don’t want to be.

I had such potential, and my family had such hopes for me. Now I clean toilets for a living (if you can call my joke of a paycheck a living). I’ve said before here that I like my job, and I do for the most part.

The struggle is knowing what I could’ve been if my brain hadn’t decided to wage war against me.

Guys, do you feel this way? It’s a dreadful feeling. What can I do to cope?

4 Likes

I can relate to that. Just accept… There are people who born with a worse dissease, or people that can’t walk, or see…

You just can accept your situation, always remembering who you used to be and triying to find it again, and if not, try to be the best you can, because our illness isn’t in our hands, just the things that I can do to have a better life.
I proud of you for be working, I haven’t even try.

5 Likes

I don’t think if I wouldnt have gotten sick I would have graduated from college. I wanted to switch to the business classes instead of the engineering courses but I wasn’t meant to graduate I guess so I got a job. I did great in first and second shift and it wasn’t until I worked third shift I lost touch with reality.

Decide where you’re going from here. ‘HERE’ is simply a starting point.

2 Likes

Don’t let something like a small paycheck or a menial job weigh on you so heavily. There’s lots of things worth doing that don’t pay or don’t pay a lot.

My brother said to me long ago that someone has to do those jobs. While he was right, he was actually using it as an excuse as I saw it to be careless or not caring for his potential.

You have a job at all and that’s something. Your cleaning a toilet just might spare someone of some horrible disease.

Don’t think the small things don’t count. No matter what it is.