I go through so many hobbies I can't count

I’ve had ago at knitting , crochet , crocheting a teddy, drawing , digital art , diamond painting , collecting pins, collecting postcards, so much more , oh and photography… I go back and forth on these hobbies sometimes … But sometimes abandon them altogether.

My partner feels it’s a manic symptom.

3 Likes

I swore I was going to make an ergonomic keyboard with a 3d printer I got, but I got distracted by all kinds of things.

Now my 3d printer and keyboard parts are just sitting there.

I have to be careful when making plans. I’m not good with follow-through.

Now I’m seriously considering becoming a natural health practitioner, and paying the $11k CAD into it for accreditation. I’d better commit 100% if I want that.

3 Likes

I get that. I mean…who really spends over £100 on felt tip markers … I’m not really a professional artist.

2 Likes

Maybe we gotta take ourselves less seriously, and pick more affordable hobbies.

Like, I don’t see the $11k accrediation leading to a cash windfall really, it’s just a labor of love type dealie for friends and family, so they’ll take my advice more seriously. It takes ages to get traction in that business.

2 Likes

Do you feel its a manic symptom? Because I really feel like what your going through is similar. I have recently applied for a completely different job. I mean I never saw myself as a professional gardener. !

2 Likes

It’s totally a manic thing. When there is chronic brain inflammation your brain is on perpetual overdrive and you end up making life plans that change pretty much with the direction of the wind. Every little thing influences that fragile mindset and you’re in a constant state of “shiny object syndrome”.

The only reliable way of stopping that phenomenon is to dial down the brain inflammation. Trying to out-think that mindset is like swimming upstream.

2 Likes