I feel like I've been stripped of a part of my identity

So my partner told me today (after a year of choking down my food, apparently, my words, not his) that he doesn’t like my cooking.

I’ve always thought I was a decent cook.

Now I’m second guessing myself on everything. I’ve been feeling down lately anyway, but I’ve taken it to an extreme in my mind, what if I’m not good at ANYTHING??? He simply replied, “then you’ll have to put work into the things you want to be good at,” which sounds fair I guess, but I do feel like I’ve already put some effort in cooking, and I’d I still suck at it what does that mean???

Honestly I already feel like I kinda suck at life in general (partly bc of my mental illness, and beyond that I am often challenged by things that seem to come easily for “most” people) and now I discover that I’m not good at something I thought I did ok.

I’d love to get a saner or more loving perspective on this!

If you like your cooking it’s good. Your opinion counts too. I wouldn’t worry about it.

Tell your significant other to do the cooking then.

My wife can cook but she doesn’t. I do most of the cooking.

She makes a pot of chili occasionally.

2 Likes

Try some 5-star recipes, those are usually good for mass approval. Hard to go wrong with them!

For what you’re in the mood to eat, type in Google “Best (type of dish) recipes” and look for the ones that have a 4 1/2 or higher rating, with more than 5 people voting for it.

2 Likes

This is mostly what I’ve been doing! Apparently I can’t even follow a recipe. :disappointed_relieved:

Okay, that’s just weird then. Are your measurements precise, and the cooking times followed to a T? Could be that the oven is not working properly or something.

Also they have to be the top-tier recipes, 3 1/2 or 4 star recipes just won’t taste that good.

1 Like

Well at least you have a partner !

1 Like