I am an advanced practice student and want to learn about psychiatric medications

Hi. I am new to this group. My name is Lee. I am a graduate student in nursing (Grand Rapids, Michigan) and have been assigned for a graduate seminar on mental health, to construct a case study as it pertains to psychiatric medication history and management for an individual.

I have worked as and emergency nurse for about 8 years. Before ED nursing, I was in graduate school for medical/cultural anthropology and my research was on opiates and addiction.

I have some personal experience with SSRIs and I have spoken at length with many patients about their experiences with antipsychotics and other anti-depressants.

I would like to get a more involved history for a person regarding their use of medications to manage symptoms. . .and then also to learn about side effects and how these were managed.

If there is any interest in this, please feel free to reach out. I would not want or need identifiers.
Thanks for your time,
Lee

4 Likes

One of the common side effects of the APs is akathisia.

I would advise those who have it to do a quick and vigorous workout on an exercise bike for 10 minutes at least. This seems to alleviate the effect.

I donā€™t know if it is the lactic build up or something else, but it does the trick.

Thatā€™s a tip for you. :wink:

1 Like

Another insight for you is that as the meds deplete dopamine therefore you will often find that it depletes motivation and joy.

Thus, if they canā€™t be ā€˜botheredā€™ to do anything you can blame the meds, not the person.

3 Likes

Some meds give an appetite that cannot be satiated. These people need a different med, unless you can accept them dying young from a heart condition and type 2 diabetes which a lot of psychs feel is acceptable if the patient is passive from the med.

Some of the meds make men and women lactate and give gynacastaemia, hence often a reluctance to take certain meds.