For those in recovery

What do you see yourself doing in the next ten years? I don’t know if I’m completely in recovery, but I function well enough to be able to consider future goals which are within reason.

I’m a student now, I want to go to graduate school to become a speech pathologist or audiologist…Haven’t made up my mind quite yet. So best case scenario, in ten years I want to be moved out to where my boyfriend lives, working to help improve people’s speech or hearing. I want to have a small house or apartment to share with my boyfriend. I hope student loans will be under control, and overall I want to be financially stable.

When it comes to my mental state, I hope that in ten years I’ve been without a hospitalization. I hope I stay on my meds and that they continue to work for me. I don’t want to reduce them because I’m afraid of what will happen in that situation. Maybe be off of the Klonopin, in reality I don’t know how much that helps me.

Where will you be in ten years?

6 Likes

die and pay taxesother than that find the place that I like and hibernate

Hopefully working, but near retirement. With my AA degree. And still living independently with a car and a little money and a few friends. Hopefully my trend will continue and my symptoms will recede even more. I haven’t been hospitalized since 1990 so I hope this trend also bodes good for me.

4 Likes

For me “recovery” is an ongoing process - its my full time job. I try to do things that will help me heal - take meds, avoid toxic people or situations, eat right - keep active, do things for myself etc…
My OCD and general anxiety and depression many times make me ruminate and dwell on my past, I really dont want to think about the future too much, because I dont know what holds for me in the future. I cannot change the past or control the future, so my thoughts are basically on the now - the present moment

5 Likes