Do you tell people you have schizophrenia?

Do you tell people you have schizophrenia? I told my parents, brother, sister and kids after I was newly diagnosed (November 2020). Of course, my husband picked me up from the hospital and I told him right away. I went to the hospital for a diagnosis because I had been hearing voices for six years and my symptoms were getting worse. I was too paranoid to make an appointment with a psychiatrist and wait two weeks or more for an appointment. I had to go be diagnosed as soon as I felt brave enough to go tell tell a professional. So, I went to the hospital. I had my husband drive me.

Anyway, I asked my husband if I should tell friends. He said no. I think I would be judged. While I have friends, I don’t have close friends or lifelong friends that someone would normally disclose sensitive information to. So, it feels like a big secret I’m keeping. My primary care doctor said it’s like anything else. You take a medication for it. Like, no big deal. I guess I’m afraid if people knew I had schizophrenia they would reject me/judge me/gossip about me/anything I did would be subject to “it must be her schizophrenia,” etc.

So, who have you told?

5 Likes

Only a my nuclear and immediate family know I have schizophrenia. I do not have any friends of any type whether those friends be close, distant or acquaintances. I suspect some of my co-workers know as well as my superiors but that is an assumption.

2 Likes

Basically everyone in my personal life knows.

1 Like

I’m very open about it. I was worried at first, but then i realized that stigma has to be changed somewhere by someone.

People are always shocked when they learn I am schizo. They’re always always like “You seem normal. I never would have guessed” and I’m always saying"I AM normal. Spicy normal. "

10 Likes