Do you get any help from your therapist?

I have been talking for twenty five years and heard one helpful thing from a therapist. They are just plain Stupid.

2 Likes

I wouldn’t be functioning at this level if not for therapy. The meds only do so much.

3 Likes

This is true for most therapists but I found a real gem of a therapist.
She’s really helping me.

2 Likes

My therapist is awful. All he talks about is himself. I have a friend who says it’s done so much for her.

My problem with therapy is they can’t cure my schizophrenia and that’s my main problem. I have a bad disease and can’t be cured. How the ■■■■ do you fix that?

I have no problem thinking of things to say. I never talk about core issues and I don’t think anyone does, can, or is meant to.

That’s not a realistic expectation. They can help you develop strategies for coping with your schizophrenia and also negative emotions that can make it worse. Less stress, depression, and anger means you may be able to function on fewer meds.

Worth it.

3 Likes

I realize they can’t cure my schizophrenia. I cope just fine without therapy. I was a psych major in college and learned a lot of coping strategies. I play guitar, write, do chores, play with my puppy, talk to friends. But I just get upset that I have schizophrenia and nothing will ever take that away