Disbelief in my diagnosis, firstly by myself and then by others

I have posted this in the recovery section basically because i am in recovery however im new to this so correct me if its in tge wrong spot.

Hi. I was diagnosed with paranoid schz about 3 years ago. While i shouldnt have been surprised by the diagnosis because the shoe really does fit, it took literally 2 years to believe it. For the last year i have been getting comfortable with the lable and as i am high functioning with very rare symptoms i have found other people who arent my immediate family questioning my diagnosis. I am on haldol injections which make me really tired for the first week of the month but basically this illness in my life is invisable. I had to leave my job 4 months ago because my boss was ignoring my pleas for less hours and my health was going down hill. There were some issues with a colleague at work and the paranoia was starting to creep in so i left and that was that. Due to money issues i have to go back but my boss has promised me less hours. I am in a relationship, recently engaged but i get the feeling my fiancee doesnt fully get my situation and that sux a bit. Even my psychologist questioned my diagnosis. Can anyone else relate?

Yes everyone has questioned my diagnosis. I even had doctors tell me I don’t have schozophrenia. I sometimes think it’s neurological.

1 Like

Thanks for the reply. I dont quite understand about the neurological part. Would you mind explaining?

Well my neurologist that my symptoms were from chronic migraines. He didn’t think there was anything wrong with me like schizophrenia.

I have never had chronic migraines so i couldnt comment on that. Thanks for explainig.

Sometimes getting and accepting a diagnosis is a frustrating process.