Disability insurance for sz/sza

how does this work? I keep losing jobs due to cognitive affects getting worse and worse. I do not want disability but it may be my only option…I’ve heard SSA often rejects disability claims. Any advice?

1 Like

I’m going through the disability process right now. My father is doing most of the heavy lifting for me

2 Likes

I am also waiting for a reply from social security. Because I have not worked long enough I have to apply for SSI. I got denied last year but I reapplied.

I advise you to have someone who doesn’t have cognitive difficulties help you with the paperwork. Reply to any correspondence promptly. Make sure to go to all medical appointments.

If your Dr. verifies your diagnosis, and thus documents your symptoms, why
would they deny your claim? I’ve been working for 20 years.

I don’t know why they deny people. I applied and got approved right away. But I’m very good with paperwork and I didn’t have any correspondence to reply back to like other people usually do. They didn’t ask me to see their doctor because I had enough medical evidence from my own doctors. I also had been unable to work for a year and had been on state disability so that made it obvious that I met the criteria and therefore I got approved. If you’ve been working it’s going to be hard to prove that you’re unable to work, I’m sure you’ll be denied based on that fact alone. You may want to try after you’ve been unable to work, then that kinda shows that you are in fact disabled.

3 Likes

If you have extensive documentation from your own doctor you should be fine. That seems to be the thing that makes the biggest difference.